News

Doctor assisted deaths law year anniversary

504 terminally ill Californians have requested a prescription for life ending drugs since a state law allowing doctor assisted deaths went into effect in 2016.  This figure only includes patients who have contacted Compassion and Choices an advocacy group.  The figure is likely much higher but no official data has been released by the State yet. Under the California law, patients must have a terminal diagnosis of 6 months or less and make two verbal requests within 15 days of each other and follow up with a written request. The law passed in CA  in June 2016 after 29 year old terminally ill Brittany Maynard had to move to Oregon in 2014 so she could end her life. The law is being challenged by several groups and a hearing is scheduled for June 16 of this year. 

Find Us

MRK Medical Consultants

6555 Coyle Avenue,

Suite 235,

Carmichael, CA 95608

Phone. 916-863-7301

Fax. 916-863-7206